Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Quilt intake today

This is Joanne’s quilt.  Its going on the machine today but I wanted to use it as an example of my intake process to show another machine quilter.  This may be helpful for the customers to know too.

These are the steps I take when each quilt arrives and I start the paperwork trail.  First thing I do is fill out an intake sheet.  I record who it came from, their address, and contact information.  From now until the quilt is returned to the owner this paperwork never leaves the quilt.

I measure both the top and backing then mark the centers with safety pins for centering them on the leaders.  I verify the back is larger than the top by a minimum of 4 inches all the way around.  I check the batting for size and remove it from the package so it will start to relax and breathe.

quilts-joanne-m-2017-001

I fold the top wrong sides out for close inspection.  Not that I’m expecting anything wrong but just to make my work go smoother.  I need to know about any issues so I can plan the quilting.   Issues are not problems.

quilts-joanne-m-2017-003

I carefully check the back for any foreign objects that may have been accidently left by the piecer.  I find a lot of straight pins but once in awhile there is something else.  This one had a few pieces of paper left from the paper piecing.  I’ll return these when the quilt goes home.

quilts-joanne-m-2017-004

I re-fold the top with the right side out for another inspection.  I’m looking for anything that would be an issue to work around when stitching a design.  This one is extremely well made.   Not all quilts are.  Sometimes a quilt top will have open seams or other issues.

quilts-joanne-m-2017-006

When a quilt arrives, but I’m not ready to put it onto the machine, I still want to start thinking about the designs to stitch based on the customer’s price choice.  I trace various areas of the top onto paper.  These tracings are what I use to audition stitching ideas.

quilts-joanne-m-2017-009

I sit in the evening after work and look through my sketch books, quilting books, or online for inspiration.  I lay another piece of paper over the sketched sections and draw different ideas.  I keep the sketch I think will work best and put it with the stored quilt.

quilts-joanne-m-2017-008

Sometimes I come up with a good design quickly and other times my mind just draws a blank.  Kind of like when an artist is facing a blank canvas.  Stand and stare time doesn’t pay the bills.  If my machine is not moving I’m not earning my salary.   That’s why I start thinking about stitching ideas before I actually put the quilt on the machine.  Anything I can do in advance is good.

quilts-joanne-m-2017-007

After all the checking, measuring, and tracing is done I carefully fold the top and backing so that they are oriented correctly to put onto the machine leaders.  I attach the paperwork to the top with a safety pin and put it away.

How often do I post?

February 2017
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 83,641 HITS
