Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Personal quilt

I was working on customer quilts but simply had to take a few days to make a quilt for my newest grand daughter due the end of March.

I started with making the drawing.  I draw cartoon style.  Next I darkened the lines with a black marker so they are more visible for the other steps.

quilts-my-own-2017-003

This is raw edge applique so I traced the pattern pieces onto fusible web.  The fusible pattern pieces were ironed to the various fabrics and the pieces cut out.

quilts-my-own-2017-008

I pinned all the pieces onto the original drawing on a design board.  I needed to be sure all the pieces are there before ironing it to the background fabric.  I choose a white background with a pink backing.

quilts-my-own-2017-009

The background and backing fabrics are from sheets in my stash.  Anytime I’m thrift store hopping I look for quality sheets to use for my personal quilts.  Finally its on the machine.  I did a ribbon meander in the background.

quilts-my-own-2017-012

This one gets many thread changes because, well, I like that for my own quilts.

quilts-my-own-2017-011

I used various overall (background) designs to quilt it.

quilts-my-own-2017-013

Without the extra stitching the doll would be puffed out, wrinkly, and strange looking.  Even the hair has a texture design to represent curly hair.

quilts-my-own-2017-014

I decided to add a special surprise on the quilt.  The baby’s name stitched into the top background.  I like adding little touches to quilts.  It says “Alivia.”

quilts-my-own-2017-021

Finally the quilting is finished and the binding work is getting done.  Machine sewn to the back, hand sewn to the front.  I used fabric left over from the backing for the binding.

quilts-my-own-2017-024

The baby shower was yesterday and I finished it the night before.  My daughter didn’t know I was making the quilt.  She stood up to show everyone what it looked like.  See my grandson Spanky in the striped shirt on the left in front of her?

quilts-my-own-2017-026

All the youngest kids were running around playing.  Spanky stopped, studied it for only a second, then ran up to hug the newest kid to arrive.  Yes, he’s a hugger.

quilts-my-own-2017-027

Spanky’s hug of approval was the best compliment I could get.  Wouldn’t you agree?

7 comments on “Personal quilt

  1. susan rizzi
    April 10, 2017

    I am catching up on my blog reading and just want to tell you how adorable that quilt is. You are an artist!

    • Anita
      April 14, 2017

      Thank you Susan. I love making kids quilts.

  2. debmoyes
    March 10, 2017

    How precious. I am sure both baby and Mom will love using that delightful quilt.

    • Anita
      March 11, 2017

      And now I have requests for two more. A step daughter is expecting in two months and a grand daughter is expecting in September.

  3. Marilyn Foulke
    March 7, 2017

    That is presious, Anita! Congratulations on a new grandbaby!

    >

  4. Espirational
    March 5, 2017

    What a nice baby quilt! I really like that.

    • Anita
      March 6, 2017

      Thank you.

Comments are closed.

How often do I post?

March 2017
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 80,830 HITS
