Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Joanne’s quit done

Well dang it!  Two times I’ve written this post only to have it disappear on me before I could post it.  I wish I knew what the heck happened.  WordPress must be messing around with something but not telling us.   I hate when they do that.  Writing it again one more time.

This is Joanne’s finished quilt.  It turned out very nice.  The photos should be clickable for a close up view.

I’ll start with the center star.  I did straight lines on the light hexagons to outline the star.

Then I did a leaf feather design on the color hexagon star points.

In case you can’t see it, it looks like this.

At the end of the star points I did a similar leaf design.

It looks like this.

Moving on to the corner areas of the hexagons I did another similar leaf design.

It looks like this.

Ok, another leaf design on the sides.

This one looks like this.

All different but related by the leaf shape.  Next is the hexagon flower shapes.  I see the same flower design stitched on the hexagon grandmother’s flower garden quilts time after time.  I’m on a mission to change this by doing different designs.

Yes, it does have the flower theme in the center but the outer ring is different.  It looks like this.

The next area is this one between the flower shapes.  I continued with the leaf theme.  Really small leaves.

They look like this.

There are still more leaves in a meandering design behind the applique on the border.  No drawing of that.

Why so many leaf designs?  Well it is a flower garden and gardens have leaves.

6 comments on “Joanne’s quit done

  1. Joanne Moss
    March 13, 2017

    Anita the quilting on my hexagon quilt was even more beautiful in person. More than I expected. It really made me smile. Now I get to the fun stuff, binding and putting a label on it.

    Joanne

    • Anita
      March 14, 2017

      Thank you Joanne. I’m glad you liked it. Not too much quilting?

  2. Beth in AZ
    March 11, 2017

    Your quilting, as always, is wonderful! I am slogging away on a king quilt for my dad. I keep getting distracted! Aiming for finishing another row by tomorrow night. Wish me luck! I will start posting pictures soon. I was out of town for a quilt class and having a bit of trouble getting restarted.

    • Anita
      March 14, 2017

      What class was it? Will you be posting about it?

  3. Kathi Kraftyzales
    March 10, 2017

    Amazing custom quilting.

    • Anita
      March 11, 2017

      Thank you Kathi. I’m still a work in progress but I’m getting there.

Comments are closed.

How often do I post?

March 2017
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 80,830 HITS
